top of page

Haunted Chp 6

Chapter 6



He caught me. It wasn't hard to hear my stomping around on fallen leaves and twigs. His fingers thread with my hair and yanked me back against his naked chest.


"Where do you think you are going?" His humid rancid breath breathed into my ear so hard that my hearing was momentarily impaired.


"I-I..." I stammered unaware of what to say to such a beast. Surely he would rip me limb from limb. "I just wanted to tell you I was late coming home and I couldn't make dinner. I can get started on it for you and our guests..." I searched the ground ahead of me perhaps looking for a rope to pull me out of this mess.


"Oh honey that is very sweet of you. Our guests don't need food but you can take this back to the house and throw it on the grill." I swallowed hard as he turned me around to face him. His eyes were wide and crazy as he stared down into me.


He held a Tupper wear container of something bloody and he seemed to be waiting for me to take it. I quickly grabbed it from his hand and began to back away.


"I'll get this started right away!" I turned my back to him and before I could take my first step-


"Don't rush. I'm having too much fun to stop anytime soon. And honey... don't you dare think of calling the cops. Unless you want to be tomorrow's dinner," his voice was low and guttural.


My entire spine shook.


I definitely would Not be calling the police. What I would have to do would require cunning. Something I wasn't sure yet if I possessed. For now the monster demanded dinner and dinner he would have.


Knowing where he was on the property gave me a sense of comfort. I felt ease in that knowledge and a numbness filled me that I carried into my body and I felt outside of it in the stillness of a moment walking soft grass. My thoughts were filled with cicadas singing loud and I allowed them to be my songbirds of anguish. Home was not what this felt like.


The heat coming from the fireplace so carelessly left aflame reminded me that I had his dinner in my hands and the reality of what it was brought me alive to the sensations I had ignored. The killing in the woods with a monster I had completely misjudged.


How had he not killed me in the times that I spoke to him in anger just to be slapped or kicked? How fortunate!

The item in my hands held firm enough that my knuckles looked bone white until I placed the container gently, respectfully down on the chopping board countertop. What kind of woman was I to consider what meal would go well with what he provided?


The weakest of them for sure to not even consider dialing the police. Instead the wave of terror that shook through me brought me to my knees and the hard ceramic tiling stung my knees.


Weak weak weak. I shoved my face into my fists and screamed out toward the nothing void that was my life.

I looked at the counter in disdain and lurched myself from my spot on the floor. Maybe if I look at it common sense will drive me into action. I lift the lid and stare down at the human heart that seemed to thump loudly despite being detached.


My vision was blurry as I side stepped to lurch into the sink. I had to get out of here. I had to save them. How I would accomplish this... I had no idea.


I turned away from the monstrosity before me and looked out at the carpeted living room that was filled with his leather couches and animal faces. He hunted and stuffed the animals in these woods like trophies. I had no idea that involved people. Every piece of our life sprang into my memory making more sense as the puzzle was put together.


I walked out of the kitchen around the bar counter and down the hall to our bedroom. There were red lights on at all times in here. Bloody and malicious even in the chamber that was meant to be for love. I turned on the closet light and walked into my clothing allowing my sobs to be muffled once again in these familiar folds of cotton.


bottom of page